What to Expect From First DUI

While operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal in all 50 states, the consequences in each state vary. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence in Clearwater, it is important that you understand Florida’s DUI penalties, particularly if this is your first offense. Your best course of action is to hire a local attorney in order to fully understand what to expect and what your rights are under these circumstances.

Did You Follow the Implied Consent Law?

If you received your license in Clearwater, you agreed to what the state of Florida calls the Implied Consent Law, which states that if you are asked by law enforcement to take a breath, urine, or blood test, you will comply. If you were pulled over and refused to submit to any of these tests, you have broken this law. As a result, your license will be suspended for one year. If you continued to refuse one of these tests, you are subject to an independent misdemeanor.

If you have broken the Implied Consent Law, it is recommended that you contact legal representation immediately.

Standard DUI Penalties

If this is your first offense (and you have not broken the Implied Consent Law) you can expect the following DUI penalties, depending on your recorded blood-alcohol content levels:

  • Up to 9 months imprisonment
  • $500-2000 fine
  • 1 year of probation
  • 50 hours of community service
  • 10 day vehicle impound
  • DUI school
  • 180-day to 1-year license suspension

First offenses with a BAC level above .15 are often sentenced to the harshest extent of the first-offense punishments. A skilled, local Clearwater lawyer can review your case and better prepare you for the DUI penalties you may be facing.

Call Flint Law Firm

At Flint Law Firm, we understand that people make mistakes. Unfortunately, driving under the influence is one of the worst mistakes we can make as human beings. No matter what your circumstances were, it is critical that you hire a lawyer that is well-versed in Florida’s drunk-driving laws and DUI penalties.